Which UFO shall I tackle today?

Soon after I started quilting in earnest, I found out about a Facebook group for quilters and what a great group it is. Everyone is so helpful and we are all encouraged to share progress on projects. It was through this group that I was introduced to the wonderful designs of Jaqueline de Jonge and I was immediately inspired to complete one of her designs. Last year I was delighted when I then had the opportunity to attend a workshop tutored by Jaqueline and it was there I started on her Enchanting Stars design. This is a photo of the pattern – not mine as I’m nowhere near finished.

Jaqueline de Jonge designs projects using a technique called Foundation Paper Piecing and I like to think of it as ‘quilting by numbers’. Using a printed paper pattern, fabric is sewn together by stitching along the lines  printed on the paper. Each section is numbered and although it takes a bit of getting used to, becomes a very straightforward way of assembling patchwork. In addition, this method enables really precise points in the patchwork which is sometimes difficult to achieve through normal patchwork.

So last November I attended the workshop where I learnt a great deal from Jaqueline and I was able to start on the Enchanting Stars design. There was no way it would be completed during the 2-day workshop so I knew it would become an ‘Unfinished Object’ (commonly known as UFOs in the quilting world) and that I would pick up this project when the mood took me.

I have worked on it a little since November but haven’t had the time or inclination to pick it up since my mother died since it takes a lot of concentration in cutting the pieces and keeping everything organised, but today was the day and this morning, out it came again!



I’ve only done a little today and will now work on this section (there about 8 sections and I’m on the 4th one) until it’s complete. Then I’ll probably have a rest from it and pick up another UFO.

Below is a photo of the first 3 completed sections. I’ll post a photo once I’ve completed the next section.

About VB

Blissfully retired and exploring all the possibilities of having fun!
This entry was posted in Foundation Paper Piecing (FPP), Jaqueline de Jonge, Quilt Tops, Unfinished Objects (UFOs). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

